The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old December 29, 2013, 10:17 PM   #1
AID_Admin

A good replacement for Hoppie's 9 with less smell?

I searched the forum for an answer to this question, but either I am not good at research or this question wasn't answered directly... Here is my situation. I am on the range weekly and clean my revolvers a few times per months. Every time I do it entire house smells like Hoppie's 9. While this is not a horrible smell, people who live with me do complain. Using ionizer doesn't help much. Keeping windows wide open is not an option on the midwest during the winter.

Therefore I am looking for a product comparable to Hoppie's 9, but with less smell. No smell would be ideal, but I imagine such thing does not exist. Thus, is there anything out there which provides similar cleaning results to Hoppie's 9, but with less smell? Thank you.
Old December 29, 2013, 10:41 PM   #2
MoGas1341

M-PRO 7 as I remember doesn't have much scent to it. A friend of mine in the Marines keeps it in his range bag because his Hoppes cap was loose and spilled in his old range bag while in transport and he couldnt stand his bag 'stinking up his truck'! lol So he bought a new bag and solvent and swears by it. Hope this helps.

Here is a link to it from Brownells http://www.brownells.com/gun-cleanin...prod23147.aspx
Old December 29, 2013, 11:23 PM   #3
PetahW

I would clean my guns @ the range or in it's clubhouse, before I'd give up the aroma of Hoppe's No.9....

Old December 29, 2013, 11:25 PM   #4
Billy Shears

I use #9 as air freshener in my truck. Probably killing brain cells, but I love that smell.
Old December 29, 2013, 11:27 PM   #5
Psychedelic Bang

I'm not sure I smell anything.. But I grew up in NYC - even left NY way back in 2002/2003...

Still can't smell a damn thing...
Old December 29, 2013, 11:29 PM   #6
MoGas1341

Quote: