The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 16, 2017, 05:59 PM   #1
bspillman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 28, 2011
Posts: 439
Mossberg 500 mag plug

Can anyone tell me the length of the plug in mossberg 500. I'm restoring one to use as a field model.
bspillman is offline  
Old July 16, 2017, 08:48 PM   #2
Bill DeShivs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 7, 2006
Posts: 8,918
How many shells does it hold now?
How many do you want it to hold?
The difference is your answer.
__________________
Bill DeShivs, Master Cutler
www.billdeshivs.com
Bill DeShivs is offline  
Old July 16, 2017, 08:50 PM   #3
bspillman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 28, 2011
Posts: 439
It holds five now. I want it to hold 2 in the tube and 1 in the chamber. Thanks.
bspillman is offline  
Old July 16, 2017, 10:39 PM   #4
bamaranger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 9, 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 5,876
5+1

Aren't the Mossberg 500's 5+1 shotguns? If so, you need to make a plug just a bit shorter than 3 shells, end to end. That would make a 2+1 gun.
I dunno, 'bout 8"??
bamaranger is offline  
Old July 17, 2017, 12:55 PM   #5
FITASC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 6, 2014
Posts: 3,310
Closer to 7". Unfired shells typically run 2.5", so 2.5 x 3 =7.5, call it 7.
__________________
FITASC: Fédération Internationale de Tir aux Armes Sportives de Chasse. http://www.fitasc.com/uk/home/view
FITASC is offline  
Old July 17, 2017, 06:26 PM   #6
osbornk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 11, 2012
Location: Marion, Va
Posts: 1,147
I just measured mine as I took it out a few months ago. It is exactly 9" long and has 2 O rings on it to keep it quiet.
osbornk is offline  
Old July 18, 2017, 10:18 AM   #7
natman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 24, 2008
Posts: 2,120
If you make a plug, be sure to bevel the ends somewhat. If cut off square it's possible for the plug to get tangled in the spring. It happened to me, fortunately the turkey was already on the ground when I went to load another shell and got nothing.
__________________
Carpe diem mañana
natman is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2016 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.12018 seconds with 9 queries