The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting > Bullet Casting

Old March 29, 2018, 07:15 AM   #1
locknloader

Quality molds

Total newbie here, know nothing about casting but would like to get my feet wet.

I assume that there are both quality, and crap molds and tools out there for casting as with any other hobby.

Can you guys suggest some good brand for molds in 9/40/45 and buckshot? Can high power rifle rounds like 556/308 be cast or do those always need to be jacketed?(cant ever recall seeing cast rifle bullets except for old cowboy guns)

What makes a good quality mold stand out from a crap one?

I'd rather pay a little more and invest in quality tools that will last me a lifetime than get some cheap stuff that will work but maybe not last or produce good quality bullets.

Any other general advice for a newbie welcome
Old March 29, 2018, 07:40 AM   #2
jaguarxk120

I wouldn't say "crap" molds. It's the quality of bullets made, some molds will throw better bullets, some molds take more work on your part to make bullets.
Much of casting is what level of quality you want.
The old timers would cast bullets in order and shoot them in the same order as cast, treating each bullet like a piece of fine crystal
Today some shooters make their bullets then tumble them as if a cement mixer to lube them.
You have to remember that bullet molds are a piece of precision equipment no matter the maker, you have to treat them as such. Even though they are very simple, two block with cavity's cut into them.
It just boil's down to how you use them.

And yes the bottom line is, you get what you pay for.
Old March 29, 2018, 06:57 PM   #3
gwpercle

NOE makes some nice moulds.