The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 9, 2008, 11:31 PM   #1
TCman

New to reloading...Lee Kit?

I am new to reloading and am looking for a kit to get started. My local gun shop has a Lee kit. Would this be a good setup to get started?

http://www.leeprecision.com/cgi/cata...g/anivers.html
Old August 10, 2008, 12:15 AM   #2
Darren007

Thats what i got started on, the Lee Anniversary press (Though not the breech lock version). Although I have since moved up to a Redding T7 Turret Press, the Lee single stage is still mounted to my bench.

Lee Presses are great starter presses. For the money its hard to beat. That way, if you decide reloading isnt for you, you wont have spent a lot of money on your gear.

Others will balk but dont get too turned off by the sometimes "cheap" feel of Lee products. It will produce good, safe, and accurate ammo.

The Lee perfect powder measure, IMHO is one of the greatest bargains in all of reloading. And again, Im sure others will call foul, but that powder measure is probably THE most accurate and consistent powder measure that I have ever used, with all powders that I've tried.

Trust me, I wanted to hate that thing. But the more I used it, the more I fell in love with it. I sold both my Hornady and Redding benchrest powder measures after using it for about a year.

The other piece of equipment I have heard complaints about is the Lee Scale. To be honest Im not sure what all the hoopla is about. It works. Its accurate. And its not THAT difficult to set up. Like anything...read the instructions.

Last edited by Darren007; August 10, 2008 at 01:25 AM.
Old August 10, 2008, 01:13 AM   #3
458winshooter

Lee kit

I think you would do very well to start with this kit for the same reasons.You can always upgrade if you find reloading to your liking and still use most of this stuff as well.
Old August 10, 2008, 01:58 AM   #4
tplumeri