The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 1, 2009, 07:22 PM   #1
ar15man2009

how to clean brass without a tumbler?

i have been reloading for a few months now and i dont have enough money to invest in a tumbler but i would like my cases to be clean.what woud be the best way to clean them in bulk quantities cheap.ive heard using a dryer n some things like that but havnt tried them yet because i didnt know what would be the best way to do it.any information would be apreciated
Old March 1, 2009, 07:36 PM   #2
tjhands

If your wife won't injure you, maybe soaking them in the kitchen sink with some detergent overnight and then a good hand mixing in the morning?

When I started handloading I thought about trying that but chose to spend a few bucks on a tumbler. I reckoned my testicles were worth more than $50.

Edited to add: Here's the one I bought 4 years ago. It's still going strong. http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/te...set=ISO-8859-1
Old March 1, 2009, 07:41 PM   #3
orionengnr

Just so I'm sure I got this right:
You can afford an AR15, you can afford .223 ammo...
You can obviously afford reloading equipment and components...
But you can't afford $40-50 for a tumbler?
Really?
Old March 1, 2009, 08:07 PM   #4
RamSlammer

Geez, if the man says he can't afford a tumbler now, then he probably can't.

Cases need to be clean - not necessarily "pretty" to function right for reloading. A sink or large bowl, some hot water and dish detergent, a colander and a small circular brush will get them clean. Make sure everything's 100% dry inside and out before loading. Lowest heat setting in an oven on a paper towel lined tray will accelerate the drying process.
Old March 1, 2009, 08:58 PM   #5
wncchester