The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Lock and Load: Live Fire Exercises

Old August 10, 2006, 04:42 PM   #1
rebelwon

Maryland Ranges/Plinking areas

Howdy!

I am expecting to purchase an 1858 Remington reporoduction BP revolver soon, but also have a collection of modern centerfire arms that I have been using for some 30 years. Does anyone know of an outdoor range in the central Maryland area where I can just do some old fashioned plinking (with both the BP and centerfire pistols) at something other than paper? Any land owner in the Howard County area that would be willing to let me do this (in exchange for a few rounds or $), with a strong promise that I will clean up to the point that you would never know I was there?

Thanks!!
Old August 10, 2006, 06:40 PM   #2
Norton

Ranges close to you:

Mariottsville - Associated Gun Clubs
Westminster - Hap Baker Range
North East - Elk Neck

I can't speak for the AGC range, but Hap Baker is paper only. At Elk Neck, it's OK to shoot clays off of the berms.
Old August 10, 2006, 06:42 PM   #3
charlie in md

here is a link

http://www.dnr.state.md.us/wildlife/shootingranges.asp

This might have something that is close to you. Good Luck!
Old August 12, 2006, 10:05 AM   #4
Mike_In_MD

Associated Gun Clubs (AGC) rules are posted here. http://www.associatedgunclubs.org/rangerules.htm

Basically, Firing at bottles, cans, metal targets, rocks, or any rounded target which may deflect a bullet at any angle, is prohibited on all ranges. I have seen people fire at objects such as ballons or clay targets, but paper is the target most shoot at.