The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting > Bullet Casting

Old November 26, 2018, 03:08 AM   #1
Sonofagun1911

Ran into a series of issues casting 9mm bullets.

Hello everyone, i'm new to casting and i ran into a wall. I'm using the Lee 124 .356 mold and the bullets came out to be 128gr with .357 to .3575 diameter. I lube them with the 45-45-10 method and the size went up to .3575 to .358. I seat them to OAL 1.125 with 5.2gr Power pistol they can't chamber. I seat them at OAL @ 1.10, they chambered and can be rotated freely.

i went to the range today and test fired them using HK USP 9mm compact.

Berry bullets 124gr 1.135 OAL, 5.2gr PP, grouping was 5 inches apart from 30 feet away.
Berry Bullets 124gr 1.10 OAL, 5.2gr Power pistol, grouping all landed inside the bullseye, also from 30 feet.

Lee cast bullets @ 128gr, 1.10 OAL, 5.2 Power Pistol shot 30 of them, all keyholding. So i stop testing them further.
I checked the brass cases for signs of over pressure and they seemed fine.

I used factory ammo, Fiocchi 115gr 9mm bullets which with OAL 1.25 which they can chamber and shoots pretty accurately. However, with my cast bullets 124gr .3575 diameter they wont chamber any length above 1.10 OAL. I posted the image below. OAL @ 1.10 is picture on the left, which they chamber but not accurate and keyholes. Do i need to seat the bullet deeper so the case covers the shoulder of the bullet and lower the power charge?

I've dig into it, some people resize their bullets to .356, i've slug my barrel it's exactly @.355

Some experience casters said they casted for 30 years and never resized their bullets.

Please if any of you have experience with the same issues please let me know and share with the community...

Thank you very much and Happy holidays.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0277.jpg (9.0 KB, 76 views)
Old November 26, 2018, 08:26 AM   #2
USSR

Quote: