The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 10, 2021, 08:54 PM   #1
BondoBob

Gap in load data between 3 sources.

I'm trying to work up a 44 Mag load with some 700x that I need to use up. I'm saving my other powders for other cartridges.

I'm using 240gr LSWC hard cast and 240 berry's plated flat point bullets. Shooting with a S&W 29 4".

Hodgdon only shows a max load of 9.5 gr. No starting load is listed.

Speer only tested from 5.5 to 6gr.

And Lee tested from 8.4 to 9.5 gr.

This may seem silly, but is there any reason I should not try 6.5, 7, 7.5 as I work up my load? That range might be my preferred pressure and ft lbs for a fun target round that's not too snappy.

Can I assume my testing range will be from starting 5.5 gr all the way through to 9.5? Again, I'm still kind of new to this and 44 mag is not where I want to make a mistake.

Thanks
Old January 10, 2021, 09:14 PM   #2
44 AMP
Staff

Quote:
I'm using 240gr LSWC hard cast and 240 berry's plated flat point bullets.
First point,
Speer's data is for Speer's bullet which is swaged, not cast, not hard cast and not plated.

And their stopping point was in the high 800fps range. Ask Speer WHY, but it might be simply that they didn't get what they felt were good results above that.

Second point:
I have no first hand knowledge, but have read numerous times that Lee does no load testing, they reprint other people's data.

IF that's IS the case, I wouldn't take Lee's data as valid, without seeing the same data somewhere else where I knew they actually tested it.

Be aware that any load data "max" load might not be the actual maximum safely possible but simply where the testers decided was a good, safe place to stop.

You almost certainly can't get in trouble if you don't exceed their listed max loads, but that doesn't mean you will be eaten by dragons if you stick one little toe over that imaginary line.