The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 14, 2011, 03:15 PM   #1
troy_mclure

lee dippers, who uses them?

i picked up a set a while ago for $5.
There is only one tactical principle which is not subject to change. It is to use the means at hand to inflict the maximum amount of wound, death, and destruction on the enemy in the minimum amount of time."
Old May 14, 2011, 03:33 PM   #2
bamaranger

me

'I've got an old set, black plastic, and a newer set, yellow, though bpoth are over twenty years old.

Handy for single stage loading. Before I got a Loadmaster, I often used a dipper and a trickler/scale for rifle rounds. Much of my handgun ammo came straight from the dipper.

Not a lot of options, but simple, cheap and affordable.
Old May 14, 2011, 03:49 PM   #3
Marco Califo

They are useful

They include them with dies, and usually they are in the range I need for a powder I have. They do deliver consistent charges, and after checking a few with a scale, I have used them for target loads.

I do like the Lee perfect powder measure http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct...tNumber=540522 better though. It comes with a stand bracket and the cc volumetric measure is useful to dial in very close to your intended charge on the first charge, by referencing the included powder density data http://media.midwayusa.com/pdf/instr...er_Measure.pdf. For $20.

Last edited by Marco Califo; May 14, 2011 at 04:39 PM.
Old May 14, 2011, 03:55 PM   #4
chris in va

I just make my own using various sizes of fired brass.
Old May 14, 2011, 04:01 PM   #5
Adamantium

I've got them. Here is the suggested load info for them, but make sure to confirm on your own scale for safety. http://www.leeprecision.com/cgi-data...ct/Dippers.pdf
Old May 14, 2011, 04:01 PM   #6
jmortimer