The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 30, 2007, 10:49 PM   #1
dirkk

Um, should I save my CCI Brass?

I bought a Ruger GP100 this year and have put about 400 rounds through it so far. I usually buy CCI Blazer Brass .38 spl because it's ... well ... cheap. I've been saving my brass because I hope to learn and get into reloading this year also. I feel it would reduce shooting cost and be a relaxing hobby IMO. Since I'm new to this, I wondered, is the brass I save from the CCI ammo quality? I mean, it's pretty cheap ammo. Does it matter? Is brass just brass? Any thoughts from some of you relading veterans?
Old March 31, 2007, 01:31 AM   #2
Dondor

if its once fired brass that you shot.. brass.. yes..

aluminum.. no

steel.. no
Old March 31, 2007, 01:01 PM   #3
Rimrod

The Aluminum cased Blazer cases are marked "NR" on the headstamp for Not Reloadable. Also if you look inside the case and see two flash holes instead of one it is not intended for reloading. (this applies only to CCI ammo)
Old April 1, 2007, 02:17 AM   #4
knightkrawler00

The only problem that I have with the CCI brass, in 45ACP, is that the primer pockets are pretty tight. A couple turns with a deburring tool solves that problem.
Old April 1, 2007, 10:19 AM   #5
cheygriz

Tight primer pockets are good! Especially in autos!

Tight pocket make brass last long time! Me like! Me got "TIGHT" pants pockets!!
Old April 1, 2007, 12:30 PM   #6
Edward429451

LOL

CCI brass is good. Save everything, even brass for calibers that you don't load for. Someone will need it someday and you'll make trades for stuff you do need...ask me how I know.
Old April 1, 2007, 10:02 PM   #7
swmike

I just reloaded some CCI brass in 9mm recently. It was as good as any I have ever loaded. No issues.

"In God we trust, all others are suspects."

"If I shoot all the ammo I am carrying, either I won't need any more, or more won't be of any help".