The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old December 12, 2005, 10:58 PM   #1
H&K4Life

Newbie Question

Hey guys,

I am generally a handgun guy who as finally made the plunge to get a PROPER home defense gun.
I have a 18" Remi 870 (which seems to be the norm), however I am going to start skeet shooting and a see those guys using the LOOOOOOONG barrels/automatics.

Would it be realistic for me to seek out a shotgun that would be IDEAL for both home defense/CQB environments and be practical for skeet shooting?

I would not mind paying for a more expensive model (my limit would be around $1k),however, I just started shooting shotgun, and I don't think my virgin shotgun skills would be a good match for a super, top-of-the line model.
Old December 12, 2005, 11:10 PM   #2
n3twrkm4n

You don't need to purchase a semi in order to shoot skeet. I do just fine hitting the same clay pidgeon three to four times with my pump action. It's just practice.

With that said longer barrels are easier to 'point-and-shoot' than shorter barrels. I've shot skeet with a 24" turkey gun and did well after realizing where I was shooting.

The reason behind the semi-auto's is reduced recoil for those long shooting sessions. The vent rig 28"+ barrel provides easier pointing and the vents provide cooling during long runs of shooting.

Benelli makes some great semi-automatics if that is the way you want to go.

Can't be beat with a nice over/under shotgun either.

The choice is yours really, if you wanted a home defense/skeet gun why not purchase another barrel for your 870? Get a short barrel and keep it on when not out at the range. And have a 28" + vent rib barrel so when you go skeet shooting it's just a twist away.

Good luck and happy shooting!
Old December 13, 2005, 04:41 AM   #3
Dave McC
Staff In Memoriam