The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old April 25, 2011, 11:25 PM   #1
Pietro Beretta

Oregon Background Check Delay

I just attempted to purchase my first firearm since moving to the state of Oregon. Since I am new to this state I am assuming thats what the delay might be about.

Anyway I was attempting to read the Oregon law pertaining to the background check and came across this:

(3)(a) Upon receipt of a request of the gun dealer for a criminal history record check, the department shall immediately, during the gun dealer’s telephone call or by return call:
(A) Determine, from criminal records and other information available to it, whether the purchaser is disqualified under ORS 166.470 from completing the purchase; and
(B) Notify the dealer when a purchaser is disqualified from completing the transfer or provide the dealer with a unique approval number indicating that the purchaser is qualified to complete the transfer.
(b) If the department is unable to determine if the purchaser is qualified or disqualified from completing the transfer within 30 minutes, the department shall notify the dealer and provide the dealer with an estimate of the time when the department will provide the requested information.
(c) If the department fails to provide a unique approval number to a gun dealer or to notify the gun dealer that the purchaser is disqualified under paragraph (a) of this subsection before the close of the gun dealer’s next business day following the request by the dealer for a criminal history record check, the dealer may deliver the handgun to the purchaser

There is no reason at all to deny me, period. I have a clean record in every meaning of the word Clean...

I guess my question is how long can a delay last, and if for some reason they don't call the dealer whom I purchased the firearm from, can the dealer transfer it to me if they dont respond?