The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old November 9, 2018, 01:31 AM   #1
TruthTellers

Is a used Taurus Poly Public Defender worth it?

I've had on my list for a while a Taurus Public Defender, but an all steel one. I would buy one new, but with the warranty change Taurus made last year, I refuse to buy any revolver from Taurus that doesn't have a lifetime warranty with it.

The issue I'm having is used, all steel Public Defenders are hard to come by at a reasonable price, yet the poly PD's are a dime a dozen. I want the steel models because the extra weight would help tame the .410 recoil, but will consider the polymer models if they're good.

Use will be for just about everything: plinking, CCW, woods gun, home defense.
Old November 9, 2018, 07:47 AM   #2
Targa

I have zero experience with a poly Judge and admit I am not a fan of poly anything. I’m not saying poly is bad, I have had Glocks, Kahr’s and have a M&P9c, all of which have been outstanding I just like metal...
If it were me, and I couldn’t find a steel version that qualified for the transferable lifetime warranty, I would get a new steel one and run it through its paces during its year warranty. If you don’t have problems with it during that time you most likely have a good one and won’t need to worry about sending it back for warranty work.
I will say that the Judges and Governors provide about as much fun as I have ever had at the range.
Oh, get ready for the numerous responses of how worthless they are for anything and how many better options are out their that you should be looking at.....
Old November 9, 2018, 02:49 PM   #3
osbornk