The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 7, 2009, 04:09 PM   #1
kscardsfan

Case annealing

Does anyone have any tips/advice on case annealing? And is that kit from Hornady required, or can you just use a bucket of water and a torch like the old timers did? I have a new 8mm Gibbs that I want to start loading for and I don't think I can just force the brass to work for me without annealing it first.
Old April 7, 2009, 05:12 PM   #2
ems-1

I have never done it before but my father use to do it all the time with a torch and a pan of water. He use to stand the cartridges up in a shallow pan of water and heat up the necks with a torch. Once the necks were heated sufficiently, he would tip the case over in the water. Make sure the water level covers the cases and only exposes the neck of the case. You want to make sure only the necks are heated. I have never actually done it myself but I would watch him many times. I wish I could be of better service but maybe someone else has more knowledge then I.
Old April 7, 2009, 05:42 PM   #3
rgitzlaff

I've only done this once, and I'm not entirely sure if it was done correctly. From what I understand, if going from color, you should do it in a dark room and stop heating and quench in water when the case mouth just starts to turn orange. Heating it up too hot will ruin the brass. Also, you don't want to anneal more than the case neck, this will compromise the case integrity. If you plan on doing an aweful lot of case neck annealing, there are machines out there that will somewhat automate this process.

Advantages:
Increased consistency and accuracy potential, the tension holding the bullet will be more consistent.

Increased case life, anealing the brass prevents work hardening and will prevent the case necks from prematurely cracking.

Disadvantages:
Can ruin the case if done improperly.

Time consuming.
Old April 7, 2009, 05:51 PM   #4