The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old October 8, 2017, 05:24 PM   #1
Cola308

Shot Placement

I have had a CWP for years and have been re-evaluating shot placement. I have a change of outlook on how I would treat an actual life threatening situation. My thoughts in the pass was to fire in the pelvic area to stop advancement with out actual killing the perpetrator. I now think I should make my first shots in the center mass upper chest area "Heart" then my second shots to the eye nose area. I have made some life size targets to use on my pistol range and was going to practice chest head shots only. I would like some thoughts on distance to target for practice for actual self defense scenario. Any input can possibly be useful to me so do not hesitate to speak your thoughts. I am a retired firefighter and ran rescue for 17 years so the outcome of a shoot out will not effect me I have seen the body inside outwards blood and guts do not bother me. I would like to thank everyone in advance for your participate in this thread.

Last edited by Cola308; October 8, 2017 at 06:26 PM.
Old October 8, 2017, 06:16 PM   #2
Mike38

I'm far from an expert on this subject, with that said..... I would think a second shot to the head would be a bad idea. If the first shot hit center of mass and didn't put the target down, the head would be bobbing around, and make for a difficult target. A follow up to center of mass seems to make more sense to me.
Old October 8, 2017, 06:24 PM   #3
Cola308

I am a very accurate shooter I practice on law enforcement type targets on a regular basis at 3 yards to 25 yards. I would probably put two in center mass before I switch to the eye nose area. But I want to practice as if it is a life threatening situation. And trying to determine a good distance to practice from.
Old October 9, 2017, 12:47 AM   #4
DaleA