The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old May 13, 2018, 08:39 PM   #1
Django11

I'm thinking about getting an AK 47

I'm thinking about getting an AK 47 mainly for the purpose of adding to my collection with something I don't already have and general plinking at my range. I really like my ARs and I have 3 of those but who knows, I may fall in love with it and use it more for possible defense purposes so I want something reliable. I'm fairly new to the platform and only shot one on a couple of occasions. I like the traditional wood stock look but I'm open in that idea. Let me know what brands I should look at. Also as far as ammo, does it really matter if I shoot steel case (I won't run it in any of my other firearms). Finally I don't plan on adding any optics. Tell me what you like and don't like as well as any other options to consider
Old May 13, 2018, 08:54 PM   #2
kymasabe

Well, it's been a while since I had AK's, been thru a dozen or so of them. Back in the day, the WASR's were very common but had mag wobble (sometimes) and front sights were often canted and had to be repaired. Some people will say stay away from Inter-Ordnance but I had an I.O. AK47C and never had a problem with it. Saiga's are the cats @ss if you can find one. I converted half a dozen of those from their funky import "sporter" setup to a traditional AK format, very nice guns, though none of mine were any more accurate than any other AK I owned.
Early on, I tried Tapco furniture and products, were OK then, I'd go Magpul these days.
I hated 30 round mags, were too long and heavy and a pain in the butt at the range, I found Hungarian tanker mags (20 round) were just about perfect. I used to have a pile of them, now I hear they're hard to find.