The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old February 11, 2018, 11:29 AM   #1
disseminator

Help me save my knuckle

Hey all,

I just bought a new Super Black Hawk in 480 Ruger. It has a Bisley grip which I have never used before. I took it to the range last night and shot about 40 rounds from it, what a great gun!

Problem: my knuckle hurts from striking the trigger guard. I was trying some different ways to hold but the most comfortable grip seems to place my knuckle right in line with the trigger guard.

Any tips would be appreciated. I love the gun and the cartridge.

Thanks
Old February 11, 2018, 12:25 PM   #2
BigJimP

I have the same problem on revolvers where the grips don't fit my hands...and my knuckles are up against / or real close to the trigger guard...only 2 options that I know of:

a. Wear gloves...a pair of Winter Rain golf gloves, come in pairs, and will give you just a little cushion / and still enough feel in your grip not to be too bulky. Foot Joy makes a black glove ...I like the synthetic version over the leather.

b. Change the grips on the gun ...you need a "fatter" grip to move your knuckles away from the trigger guard a little. I don't know what you will find that will help you on the Ruger..in terms of grip options for bigger hands..
( personally for a single action, I went with the Freedom Arms, large frame, model 83's ...for my single actions because of the same issue ).

On double action revolvers like K frame S&W revolvers ( that are too small for big hands generally), I went with Hogue aftermarket wood grips, with a palm swell in them and finger grooves...to give me something bigger...to move my knuckles away from those trigger guards.
Old February 11, 2018, 02:16 PM   #3
Erno86

I prefer Uncle Mikes padded shooting gloves to alleviate knuckle pain.