The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 26, 2014, 10:01 AM   #1
Micahweeks

Replicating a factory load from Buffalo Bore

I am looking for a way to replicate this round...

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/171...heck-box-of-20

I am very new to this whole reloading thing, so I'm not really sure how to go about this. I have manuals, but they don't list anything comparable to this load. One website has a much hotter load that seems unsafe. Does anyone have load data on this BB round that will be reasonably safe in a 4.2 inch SP101?
Old August 26, 2014, 10:29 AM   #2
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

It basically says right in the description that these are loaded to .357mag pressures. You can't achieve "low end .357 ballistics" without loading to low-end .357 pressures.

Hodgdon's .357mag data uses a 10" barrel and only gets 1,100 to 1,500 at max loads.

I would not shoot those loads in a .38spl-only revolver.

Find the best .38spl +P data from an official source and use that.
Old August 26, 2014, 10:54 AM   #3
zxcvbob

You're not going to replicate that. Power Pistol might get you close if you overload them just a bit. Herco would be worth trying too. (I can run some numbers in Quickload tonight if I don't forget, but I'm pretty sure QL significantly underestimates .38 Special pressures)

For bullets, try Magnus #515

Alliant used to have .38 Special +P load data for all their powders. You might look in an older online manual. http://www.castpics.net/LoadData/Fre...M/Alliant.html

ETA: for a home defense load, I use those Magnus LSWCHP's in a 4" revolver with 4.5 grains of Unique or 4.4 grains of American Select.

Last edited by zxcvbob; August 26, 2014 at 11:05 AM.
Old August 26, 2014, 11:26 AM   #4
Nick_C_S

I don't know my Rugers - I had to look up an SP101 lol. Actually, I was fairly certain it was a 357; just had to double-check.