The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 12, 2018, 02:01 PM   #1
texasloader79

Newbie Reloader Question

As the title infers, I am new to reloading. I have a Hornady LnL. So, currently I am trying to find a quality caliper. I am wanting to reload some once shot .243 Win. After priming and adding powder, I attempted to seat the bullet. The bullet can be shoved all the way in the cartridge by hand. I have seen a vague youtube video about a neck resizer. Comments and help please
Old February 12, 2018, 02:10 PM   #2
RC20

Did you resize the case? Is it a Full Length (FL) die set you are using?

If you did it sounds like you punched the primer out but did not have the die adjusted right to resize it.

No you don't need a neck sizer, that is for advanced re loaders if at all.

Hornady uses LNL for all their stuff now, so more details as to what press you have.

Any of the Metallica calipers is good as the precision is not down to .001 that they all read.
Old February 12, 2018, 03:00 PM   #3
reddog81

Do you have instructions for the dies or a reloading manual? What bullet are you using and how much powder and what kind of powder?

Did you punch the old primer out of the case? If so, what did you use to knock the old primer out? If you used a resizing die, was it screwed all the way in until it touches or almost touches the shellplate?

I'd guess that the resizing process got messed up somehow but there are other possible problems. Without knowing more details anything is just a guess.
Old February 12, 2018, 03:36 PM   #4
fredvon4

Any 6" $12 to $35 metal caliper from Lowe's/Ace/ home depot type stores are accurate enough..no need for Starrett or Mitutoyo cost is $$$$ and if dropped need re calibrating...

I have several as a past machinist... probably sell them some day as 0.0001 precision is not needed for reloading