The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old February 12, 2018, 03:25 PM   #1
nanney1

Range Officer inspection

I'm new to shooting and have been to three public and one private range since October.

Indoor range - RO's inspects weapons and ammo.
Private range - CC class qualification - RO's inspect weapons and ammo.
Outdoor range - RO's inspects weapons and ammo.

Super duper nice indoor range and retail store. First time at the counter, I present my firearms and ammo for inspection. RO at the counter doesn't even really look and says you're good. I presented the two guns with slide and cylinder open. He didn't pick them up and he didn't open up any of the ammo boxes. None of the RO's in the range looked either.

On my second trip to the super nice facility, I didn't even open up my bag. I was given a lane and sent in without anyone checking.

My feeling is that the first 3 ranges did the normal and proper thing and that the nice place did not. Does that seem odd or is it normal for some ranges not to inspect?
Old February 12, 2018, 03:41 PM   #2
Pahoo

Range rules, differ

RSO's follow whatever the range and CRSO have set down. In short, you will find that each range has it's own set of rules with many common elements. Even though the NRA certifies the RSO's. The club rules, SOP's and guidelines, are dictate how a range is run. Whenever you go to a range, it's up to you to question and be informed, on the rules. All the clubs I have shot have most of their rules posted. I have never seen an RSO that was not willing to work with you. .....

Be Safe !!!

Last edited by Pahoo; February 12, 2018 at 04:19 PM.
Old February 12, 2018, 03:44 PM   #3
ammo.crafter

inspection

I never experienced a range inspection and wonder what the motive might be.

The ammo inspection may be something that ranges who sell ammo do to discourage "outside" ammo from being used at that range.