The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 23, 2009, 01:59 PM   #1
Doodlebugger45

The cost of shooting reloads

My business partner doesn't shoot very much so lately he has been amazed at how much I started shooting since I began reloading. He asked me how much it costs now that I reload. So I figured up the costs on a couple different rounds I was shooting a lot. That was kind of interesting so I figured up the cost of everything that I shoot. It's kind of an interesting number to think about in terms of a price per box of 50 (handguns) or 20 (rifles) or even more interesting to think about the cost of every bullet you send downrange. I thought some of you might find it interesting as well so I am passing along those numbers.

For each cartridge, I figured up the cost if you had to buy brand new factory brass to start and then the cost after that when you reuse that brass. The cost of the bullets of course are extremely variable. For some of the rifle cartridges you can spend a whole lot more than I figured here. For all the rifle bullets and the 357 magnum revolver I used a Hornady jacketed bullet. Your costs will vary a bit, but they will probably be fairly close to these.

The interesting thing is that even when factoring in buying brand new brass and a pretty decent bullet, the cost is remarkably similar to the very cheapest factory ammo that I can find on the shelf (if I can find them). Obviously when you reuse the brass, the cost goes way way down.

38 Special - 158 gr cast bullet
New brass included = $0.33/round = $16.50/box of 50
Reused brass cost = $0.13/round = $6.50/box of 50

357 Magnum - 158 gr JHP Hornady bullet
New brass included = $0.44/round = $22.00/box of 50
Reused brass cost = $0.24/round = $12.00/box of 50

45 Colt or 44 Magnum (very similar) - 200 or 240 gr cast bullet
New brass included = $0.41/round = $20.50/box of 50