The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old April 29, 2013, 10:47 PM   #1
Kirby8604

SP101, S&W M60 for Mom?

My mom is in her mid 50s and wants to get her first gun. She wants a revolver primarily for a bedside gun. She "wants" a small revolver but I explained the recoil benefits of a heavier gun. I figured a Ruger SP101 or Smith Model 60 would be a good compromise between her desire not to have a hand cannon and her having something pleasant to shoot, especially loaded with 38sp. Any suggestions are welcome and encouraged as I am no expert. She is not set on 357/38 caliber those were just a couple suggestions I had, but she is set on a revolver rather than semi-auto. Thanks everyone.
Old April 30, 2013, 09:18 AM   #2
pilpens

Ruger SP101 and S&W model 60 are very good revolvers. Also, consider a S&W 640.
Always best to try before you buy.
Pick the one that fits her hand best.
Most important is to make it fun for her when she practice.

=========
I would opt for 38 only revolver -- +P ammo for defense.
I like POA=POI. Consider +/- of fixed VS adjustable sights.
One of the most comfortable snubbie I have shot is Stainless Rossi 5 shot 38 only with rubber grips. Plenty accurate for defense but heavy OEM trigger. I have lightened the trigger return spring for my GF's grandmother. She is 80+ and shoots once in a while.
=========

Last edited by pilpens; April 30, 2013 at 09:33 AM.
Old April 30, 2013, 09:57 AM   #3
ClydeFrog

New to guns, rentals...

1st, there are some points to stress;
Sit down and really talk about the use of force issues & legal factors involved. Guns are extremely dangerous. They are not toys, props or fashion statements.
Make 100% sure she knows & understands the state/local gun laws and can be fully ready to explain her actions if required.
I'd rent or borrow a few DA/DA only revolvers then let her shoot a few/handle them.