The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 14, 2016, 02:27 AM   #1
JTReloader

Light .357 loads for a woman

Here's the deal...

I'm new to reloading and piecing information from all over together is a recipe for something to go wrong.
My mom has a .357 revolver my dad got for her a long time ago. It has a 2 inch barrel, small grip, and in her hands it won't hit the broad side of a barn. She hates the recoil so much that she's scared to shoot it and why he never got her something else is beyond me.
So I would like to utilize my newfound hobby to make her up a low recoil load that she can use for target practice and for a defensive round. The target load would just be FMJ and a HP for a defensive round. Pleasw don't give me a lesson on how you should shoot what you carry, she honestly won't shoot enough warrant shooting her HP for percision accuracy. I would just like some low recoil FMJ rounds for her to target shoot with to build confidence in herself and the handgun so if she ever has to use it for defense, she has the confidence. To do so. Of course she'll shoot a few HP rounds but in reality if she has to shoot a HP round for defense, it won't matter if it shoots two inches to the left verses her target load at 10 yards because the attacker will likely be 5 yards or under.

So does anyone have a recommendation for a low recoil, .357 mag recover load using FMJ and HP? Also, any tips on reloading for a recover would be great. All information is useful.
Old December 14, 2016, 02:48 AM   #2
Mozella

I wonder if you're over thinking this situation. When my wife had a .357 revolver, which she had strictly as a bed-side-table home defense gun, she didn't shoot it very much. However, she wanted to stay proficient so she simply shot .38 factory rounds; cheap, easy to get, and low recoil.