The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old March 3, 2010, 12:31 PM   #1
dschild

Mosin Nagant problem

Bought my first 91/30. I refinished it. Cleaned everything inside and out. Tried to load two snap caps. First one loads into the chamber and ejects nicely. One the second one comes up, it comes up at a flat angle rather than pointed a bit up like the first. So when trying to chamber the round it seems to get stuck. A good forceful push gets it into the chamber, but it's not something I'd want to do with live rounds. I haven't tested live rounds yet. Maybe that will make a difference. But I wanted to ask on this forum if anyone else has had this issue.
Old March 3, 2010, 04:50 PM   #2
zombieslayer

I'm no expert, but I own two Mosins. Never had any 54r snapcaps, but I've read of the same problem you're having with them. Try live rounds.
Old March 3, 2010, 04:58 PM   #3
SigP6Carry

I'm with Zombie Slayer. I use spent cases as my "snap-caps." I've read a lot of snap cap issues with Mosins.
Old March 6, 2010, 01:41 PM   #4
dschild

Problem continues

I just got back from the range. My first 15 rounds went through fine. But on the last group of 5 the last round would not load in the chamber. I think the spring is worn. I'm going to look for a replacement.
Old March 6, 2010, 02:06 PM   #5
the rifleer

its more likely the feed ramp than the spring. If worst comes to worst you can just buy a new magazine somewhere dirt cheap and that would probably fix it.
Old March 6, 2010, 10:46 PM   #6
spotter123654

i only know a few people with mosin's i would say try a live round
Old March 7, 2010, 08:57 AM   #7
ksstargazer