The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old May 15, 2000, 09:29 AM   #1
MakAttack

I am looking for recommended sources for the parts needed to convert my 12g 870 Wingmaster (bought used for this purpose) into a HD gun. I'll probably go with a Banded Tactical Front Sight & Ghost Ring Rear Sight from MMC, (these guys did a great job of both advising me & ultimately performing a custom installation of combat night sights on my Makarov pistol)but beyond that I have no real knowledge of where to go for other options.

For instance, I will replace the wood stock & forearm with synthetic items, I'd like to extend the magazine (this is an older, vintage 50's - 60's shotgun), install some type of ammo carrier, etc. I think I can perform most of that work myself, but am having a problem trying to determine exactly which accessories to choose & what fair pricing might be.

Can anyone here point me to a few recommended sources?

Thanks,

Mak

------------------
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work"
Thomas Alva Edison
Old May 15, 2000, 12:20 PM   #2
jthuang

Well, you can go hog wild with accessories or leave it stock, either way is generally good with a shotgun for HD.

Ammo carrier generally means a TacStar Sidesaddle. You can buy these at gunshows for around $20. Your Wingmaster will require a shortened fore-end to accommodate the six shell saddle, or you can buy the four shell saddle. You can get one of these from Botach Tactical at http://www.botachtactical.com

Be forewarned before you order from Botach -- call first and make sure your item is in stock. You will be very sorry if you don't call, order and then find out that your item is not in stock. I have ordered from them three times with no big problems but YMMV.