The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 20, 2015, 02:13 AM   #1
Lee6113

I'm gonna buy a reloading kit

Hey guys, especially after all the great responses in my other thread "Pricing on Ammo", and reading different view points in the "Cost: benefit to reloading" thread, my wife and I decided to go forwards and start reloading.

Now, I don't want this to go into a brand war, but I'm not certain what company to go with.

There's a great youtube series by Bill Morgan on youtube that's been great to watch, and he uses a Hornady Single Stage kit. I like the idea of getting that one so I can maximize his video tutorials.

But I'm brand new to this so I don't want to jump in and buy something before I get some more feedback.

I know I want to start with a single stage press. We don't have a lot of space so have a set up we can use our counter, dining tables coffee table, or my desk (desk or kitchen table being get most likely, depending on if it's just me or the both of us). So our setup will need to be portable. No building a bench where we're at right now, haha.
I have room for components, etc, and some storage space for when we're not using it.

So, does anyone have any recommendations for a good starter kit?

Based on hearing a lot of people's frustrations with the Lee press, I'm thinking of going with a different brand. Price isn't my main factor also, I'd much rather have something quality I can use with confidence and have access to great support.

Again, not trying to start a brand war, haha.

Thanks in advance for the help and advice!

Cheers,

Lee
Old July 20, 2015, 02:24 AM   #2
C7AR15

Starting out

I would say, "skip the balance beam scale and just start off with a digital scale.
Also the Lee hand held priming tool is very good and is not expensive.
My 2 cents. JD
Old July 20, 2015, 05:07 AM   #3
hartcreek

Here starts the war.