The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old June 4, 2016, 12:33 PM   #1
sandman31774

T/C Impact

The T/C Impact muzzleloader interests me. I'm new to muzzleloaders. Wondering if the Impact is good for it's cheaper price point or if I should look into something better??

My shots are 100 yards and closer where I hunt. Deer/hogs etc...
Old June 4, 2016, 12:58 PM   #2
Rachen

If you like the TC brand primarily, get the TC Encore. It is more expensive, of course, but you can switch out the barrels and literally have a whole set of rifles in one rifle. Like one of these multi-head screwdrivers. The Encore is available with a .50 or .45 caliber muzzleloading barrel, as well as 12-gauge shot/slug barrels, and about 10-15 other popular hunting and varmint rifle calibers. Same TC reliability, and more choices. Lets say you are stuck at an overwinter hunting camp deep in the Canadian wilderness under 30 inches of snow. The nearest supplier or your buddies only have 12-gauge slugs available. Well, one screw, one twist of a handle and presto! you have a 12 gauge slug gun in your hands now.

Otherwise, I would personally recommend a Civil War rifled musket. A 2-band Enfield to be more precise. Can take all species of big game on the planet, and the rifle gives you a lot of recreational potential. Want to compete in N-SSA or join a reenactment group? You have one gun for a lot of different needs.
Old June 4, 2016, 01:07 PM   #3
sandman31774

Thanks for the reply ! I have plenty of shotguns and other rifles, so the Encore doesn't interest me much. I don't need all of the interchangeable options the Encore offers. It is nice though. I am just interested in venturing into the muzzleloader world. Just mainly wondering if the T/C Impact is decent quality for the cheap price point.
Old June 4, 2016, 01:37 PM   #4
Rachen