The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 10, 2014, 11:50 PM   #1
BerettaMan96

I need a good shotshell recipe for over 1200

I'm looking to get into loading my own shells like many others and just picked up a lee load all 2 for dirt cheap. My questions are, what is a good recipe to achieve over 1200fps, what components work best, and any tips or advice for someone new to this?
Old February 11, 2014, 12:04 AM   #2
loademwell

I bought the 12 g. book for reloading.
Not an expert yet. Only have made about 300 rounds. but what I can tell ya, is that its very VERY important to follow the recips to the T.

I can tell ya what I have for 1200 fps but you need to tell me what you want! You talking slugs, shot (if so how much shot), what hulls you have or powder.

What are you going to use it for?
Old February 11, 2014, 12:18 AM   #3
BerettaMan96

Well like I said im new to this and haven't bought any components yet. I wanted to do some research and learn a little more first, but I plan on using them mostly for target shooting. I need something more than 1200 though because my 12g cycles better.
Old February 11, 2014, 08:08 AM   #4
Rico567

I shoot sporting clays, 1 oz. loads, in a Beretta 682 Super Sport. I load W 209 primers, Claybusters pink wads (just a clone of the Winchester 1 oz. wad) in AA hulls. I use 18.5 Clays powder per the Hodgdon online data manual* yielding 1235 fps. There is one heavier load listed, 19.8 grains at 1290 fps, but this is beyond my needs.

*You should go online and verify this data for yourself. Even though I've checked it, never use a load someone else gives you without checking. "Trust, but verify."

- Mark Twain
Old February 11, 2014, 10:27 AM   #5
Pongo

Purchase the Lyman Shotshell Reloading Handbook. I believe the 5th edition is the most recent.