The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old January 25, 2006, 03:15 PM   #1
AdamGrier_atc

Going Duck hunting!!!

Hi guys. I am going on my first duck hunting trip in a couple of weeks. I have no experience with it, and i am very excited. I do have a couple of questions. I am planning on taking my Remington 870. First off, what types of loads should I look at, and secondly what type of choke configuraion should I use?

Thanks in Advance,

Adam
Old January 25, 2006, 08:46 PM   #2
12-34hom

Depends on what type of shooting you would be doing.

Over decoys - Improved cylinder - # 2 steel - 3 inch shells.

Jump shooting - modified - 2 steel - 3 inch shells

Pass shooting - full or modified choke - #1 or 2 steel shot. 3 inch shells

I prefer to have more pellets in the air as compared to larger shot size. #2 steel will kill large ducks at modest ranges - out to 45 yards. Large shot sizes are required for large waterfowl = geese.

Good luck & hunting!

12-34hom.
This is my rifle. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My rifle is my best friend, it is my life. I must master itas i master my life.Without me my rifle is useless, without my rifle i am useless. I must fire my rifle true. I must shoot straighter than my enemy who is trying to kill me. I must shoot him before he shoots me. I Will. Before God i swear this creed. My rifle and myself are defenders of my country. We are masters of our enemy. We are saviours of my life. So be it until there is no enemy, but peace. Amen.
Old January 25, 2006, 08:57 PM   #3
iudoug

Be careful Adam...it is very