The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old October 3, 1999, 12:43 PM   #1
indyspc
Retired Screen Name

I have read so many posts here claiming both Mossberg and Remington to be equal in one aspect or another and no clear superior excpt for Benelli. I cannot afford the Benelli.
Are the Beretta's cheaper versions of the Benelli?
I thought I read (can't find it now) that there is a shotgun that will allow the user to eject the fired shell from the chamber, and instead of cycling another shell from the magazine, open the breach(somehow) and insert a slug or different type of shell. Is this even possible? Or do all shotguns allow this? Yes I am new to shotguns and basically want one for house protection.
Also what effect does the choke have? Does it just change the pattern of the shot by the shape of the choke?
Do some or all guns shoot multiple size and types of shells?
! WHEW ! Care to add anything else?
Old October 3, 1999, 05:25 PM   #2
Art Eatman
Staff in Memoriam

never having messed with Mossberg or Benelli, I'll leave those comparisons to others.

Generalizations: The "gauge" of a shotgun came from the last century or maybe earlier--it's the number of round lead balls to make a pound. Today's standard gauges are 10, 12, 16, 20, 28 and the .410. This last is 41 caliber, not a gauge. Ain't gunning fun?

To narrow things down a bit more, the 12 and the 20 are the most commonly used for sport or combat. Most folks object to the recoil of the 10, and the 28 is mostly used for skeet competition by precision shooters.

The most common chokes are full, modified, improved cylinder and cylinder. The tighter the choke from a straight cylinder, the smaller the shot pattern.