The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 27, 2017, 09:53 PM   #1
DavidABQ

Favorite Die Manufacturer?

I am just getting into reloading. I have a RCBS Rockchucker beginners kit and I need to start acquiring some reloading dies.

Any particular brand to buy or to stay away from?
Old April 27, 2017, 10:33 PM   #2
tangolima

Lee has good value. I used them a lot when I first started. But not anymore. I like hornady better. After their free bullet rebate, it is actually better value than Lee.

-TL
Old April 27, 2017, 10:55 PM   #3
disseminator

I have RCBS Carbide Pistol Dies, Redding Premium Rifle Dies, and recently picked up a set of Lyman Carbide Pistol Dies and so far I really like them.

The RCBS are my least favorite of the three but are widely available.

The different manufacturers all seem to have their pro and cons. They all will get the job done, and if you start with the less expensive dies now, you can get nicer ones later if you want.
Old April 27, 2017, 11:15 PM   #4
FrankenMauser

Your title and question don't necessarily align. But...

My favorite major brand is probably Redding. I can't really quantify why other than never having a problem with a die, unless I caused it, and their dies always having a superior finish inside and out.

Brands to stay away from?
Lee.
They don't believe in quality control. Instead, they favor the Chinese mass production approach of, "sell everything that comes off the line, and make the customer pay for replacement if it's out of spec."
Lee reloading dies I have owned: ...Just shy of 50.
Lee reloading dies I have been satisfied with and worked as intended: 5. (And I had to modify one of them.)