The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 7, 2006, 10:30 PM   #1
Benonymous

Bullet seating dilemma

Hi All.

I'm a total noob in the reloading area and I have a problem. Here's a pic of the handload I am trying to work up. It's a .308 hunting round using a Hornady SST projectile of 150 Gn weight. I have a pile of once-fired brass from my Steyr Scout and so I have used a prepped but unprimed case to seat a bullet in using the "put it in the gun-close the bolt" method.

The result is what you see here. The crimp cannelure is way above the top of the neck. I gave the seating plug a half turn down to seat the bullet in off the lands too. I have provided a Remington factory round here for comparison and the bullet ogive seems to be almost identical to the Hornady projectile.

As is, this round will fit easily in the magazine and seems to feed fine too. My questions are:
1. I can't crimp the case with the cannelure out this far. Is that a problem?
2. should I seat the bullet back so that I can crimp and just let the bullet leap the 1/8" into the rifling?
Old September 7, 2006, 10:46 PM   #2
rwilson452

where to seat

Unless your using a semi auto there is no great need to crimp. At this point if your get satifactory accuracy with out the crimp don't crimp. I never crimp my '06 ammo except for my M1. That point you found is just a starting point you may wish to dial in that seating depth some more. Trail and eror is the only way. some rifles wrk better at the lands and some like it back up about .03 off.
I would move back .005 at a time until you find a sweet spot. Then you tweak the powder load .5 gr at a time. then you do it all over again. you can do this forever or stop when your happy with the load.
Old September 8, 2006, 01:03 AM   #3
Benonymous

Thanks