The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Closed Thread

Old February 17, 2021, 07:14 PM   #1
Alan0354

Legal way to buy a pistol in Ca not on their approved list

Hi

I don't know much about buying pistols not on the Ca. approved list in Ca. How do you do that? I read that you have to buy used from out of state and ship to a dealer to register.

Is there any way to buy new ones as ship from out of state?

Thanks
Old February 17, 2021, 07:48 PM   #2
cslinger

I am not a lawyer or Calif resident but the way I understand it there are basically three ways.

1-Old gun previously on the register being resold
2-Gun purchased by LEO or other entitled entity being resold.
3-Gun brought in legally by a new resident who had purchased / owned it before relocating to CA and being resold.

AFAIK, but could be wrong, you cannot simply buy out of state and ship in to FFL.
Old February 17, 2021, 07:51 PM   #3
Alan0354

I want a new one, I don't want used one. That's the reason I ask. Like the Glock 43!!!
Old February 17, 2021, 09:36 PM   #4
Aguila Blanca
Staff

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan0354
Is there any way to buy new ones as ship from out of state?
If it is not on the California registry of acceptable handguns, you can't buy it new. Any hew handgun has to be delivered/transferred to you through an FFL in your state of residence, and a California FFL cannot sell you a gun that is not on the approved list.

As I understand it, your options are as stated by cslinger, above.

FYI: https://www.oag.ca.gov/firearms/cert...andguns/search
Jeepaholic
Old February 17, 2021, 11:25 PM   #5
ballardw

I suspect your option comes down to vote some folks out of office and repeal the laws.
Or get a good enough argument in the right court to overturn the laws.