The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old September 14, 2022, 05:48 PM   #1
John D

Diamondback DA trigger

Just bought this revolver. I have SA .22’s but wanted DA as well. The price was right; this MAY be why the trigger pull is so heavy. Articles I’ve read say it goes at 14 lbs. really heavy. Anyone have thoughts on how to lighten this up?
Old September 14, 2022, 06:14 PM   #2
Scorch

Dont try it your self. The older Colts trigger mechanism is different from anything curently on the market. I have been smithing for 30 years, look around for someone with about that much experience to do any trigger work.
Old September 14, 2022, 06:48 PM   #3
44 AMP
Staff

Put in some good quality snap caps (NOT fired cases) and DA dryfire the gun a few thousand times.

And, yes, I'm serious about the number.

After you get a few thousand cycles on the action, it will be about as smooth and light as its going to get without quality professional Colt trigger work, and it has the added benefit of strengthening your trigger finger and there by making a heavier pull "feel" lighter.

And if you mix just snapping in with actual dry fire practice (lining up sights, keeping them on target as you pull through), the benefit of the practice will be even greater.
Old September 14, 2022, 11:44 PM   #4
Jim Watson

Tough DA may include
Rimfire needs harder hammer fall, stronger mainspring.
Stock Colt DA stacks a lot.
Diamondback is not a small Python.
Gun to gun variation.

2000 snaps as recommended by SIG Sauer chief armorer did sweet bugger all for the trigger pull of a P220. A visit to Teddy Jacobsen helped a lot.
A friend's home market P220 did not need help.
Old September 15, 2022, 12:18 AM   #5
44 AMP
Staff

Absolutely a lot of gun to gun variation.

Quote:
2000 snaps as recommended by SIG Sauer chief armorer did sweet bugger all for the trigger pull of a P220. A visit to Teddy Jacobsen helped a lot.