The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 5, 2011, 04:34 PM   #1
XferMan

Do I have a safe load?

I am new to loading, did my first 25 reloads today, and it only took me 3 hours:barf:. Anyway, I am using 9mm 115 fmj rn with winchester 231 powder OAL 1.09". When I looked up a recipe in my lyman 49th edition it said to start at 3.5gr, and when I loaded a round it looked awfully low so I went online to search for more recipes. When I did they all said it was low. The recipe I went with is OAL 1.125, 4.5gr win 231. Will I blow myself up when I go to the shooting range? Also, what is a good additional manual to pick-up?

“The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not.” — Thomas Jefferson
Old March 5, 2011, 04:46 PM   #2
testuser

I have Sierra, Speer, Hornady and Lee and generally perfer the Hornady book. According to Hornady 7th edition the maximum charge is 4.5 grains of W231 with a 115 grain bullet. Whenever possible, I like to use data from the powder manufacturers, usually available for free online.

It's not dangerous per se, but it's not the best practice to start with a maximum load, so best to check for signs of excess pressure as you shoot. I load by volume, so I don't load max charges, when doing so it's best to weigh each charge.
Old March 5, 2011, 04:49 PM   #3
overkill0084

http://www.hodgdon.com/PDF/Hodgdon%20Basic%20Manual.pdf
See link above.
Looks like your probably ok. I show 5.1 (Speer GDHP) as max according to Hodgden's data. IIRC, I think that 4.5gr. 231 is my friend's pet load for his 9mm w/ 115 gr FMJ.
“At the core of liberalism is the spoiled child – miserable, as all spoiled children are, unsatisfied, demanding, ill-disciplined, despotic and useless. Liberalism is a philosophy of sniveling brats.” — P.J. O’Rourke
Old March 5, 2011, 04:52 PM   #4
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus