The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old September 7, 2011, 09:35 PM   #1
tobnpr

Red Jacket Firearms...and their NFA gatling gun?

So I'm doing my usual Wed. night viewing of the show...it's a train wreck for so many reasons, but I just can't help but watch it...but that's a whole 'nother subject...

Tonight's episode featured a 12 ga. gatling gun.
Now, I'm no expert on NFA firearms and regs...but at the end of the show, they clearly told the junkyard owner that he could take it home- as in it's HIS- for his fifteen grand...

This is an electrically operated, newly manufactured gatling gun. Gotta be NFA- and 100% illegal for that civvie to own- shouldn't BATF be knocking on that guy's door? What am I missing that would make it legal for him to own that weapon?
Old September 7, 2011, 09:52 PM   #2
highvel

It would be a hoot on the Dove field though

"I have opinions of my own 'strong opinions' but I don't always agree with them."--George Bush
Old September 7, 2011, 10:00 PM   #3
egor20

highvel

Quote:
It would be a hoot on the Dove field though
Please don't gvie my wife any ideas.

She still kicks my but at bird hunting

Country don't mean dumb.
Steven King. The Stand
Old September 7, 2011, 10:03 PM   #4
artburg

I was waiting for the mags to fly off and kill someone.
That show is so wrong in too many ways to count......
Old September 7, 2011, 10:14 PM   #5
Austin Cowart

well

Never seen the show and probably never will but i can bet you that a company that has exploded like red jacket has wouldnt put their SOT at risk by selling illegal NFA items. Im sure the team of lawyers that they have going over every detail costs more than most of us make in a year.
Old September 7, 2011, 10:51 PM   #6
Ridge_Runner_5

IIRC, gatling guns are not NFA because they still require you to manually work the action for each shot?
Old September 7, 2011, 10:54 PM   #7
Bill DeShivs

Read again- ELECTRICALLY operated.