The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old December 1, 2017, 10:48 PM   #1
TruthTellers

Burnside Carbine?

I saw Ian of Forgotten Weapons video last month of the Burnside and me being a black powder connoisseur instantly became fascinated in the rifle. I looked up to see if brass cartridges are made and Dixie gun works does sell the brass. Being that I'm a machinist, I figure I could turn my own on a lathe.

So, I want a Burnside. Any here ever owned a Burnside? What's handloading the ammo like? Do you think the Burnside is worth owning?
Old December 1, 2017, 11:28 PM   #2
James K
Member In Memoriam

The cartridge cases made for Dixie sell for around $5 each; they also have a sort of "ring" that fills the gap but is not full length for a little less. I think I would go for the full length case. With the proviso that I have never tried to make my own Burnside cases, I would think that machining that tapered case would be a real PITA and a very slow DIY operation. The ones Dixie sells are pretty heavy (machined, not drawn brass like the originals) and should last indefinitely.

For those not familiar with the Burnside, the cartridge looks like an ice cream cone. It is dropped into the breechblock rear end down, with the front of the bullet sticking out.
Then the breechblock is closed, forcing the front end of the bullet into the rear of the barrel.

Jim
Old December 2, 2017, 02:01 AM   #3
TruthTellers

Quote:
With the proviso that I have never tried to make my own Burnside cases, I would think that machining that tapered case would be a real PITA and a very slow DIY operation
CNC lathes make turning tapers a breeze and shadowgraph machines make checking the diameters easy.

For $5 a round, that's about right. I'm guessing it takes about 3-4 minutes to turn a case out on a CNC lathe. If I even got my hands on a Burnside, my plan was to buy a few of the cases at Dixie's, measure them, and go from there.