The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 17, 2014, 09:16 PM   #1
Petespacking

Anyone notice any wear with coated bullets?

I've been reloading for close to forty years and have always used jacked and lead bullets for handguns. I have been seeing more of the coated bullets for sale at gun show and some gun stores. The concept intrigues me and I'd like to give them a try. Has anyone noticed any wear in your rifling, feed ramps or forcing cones? Any comments good or bad would be appreciated. Thanks
Old July 17, 2014, 09:55 PM   #2
Vance

I have coated with powder coating paint. I haven't noticed any extra wear anywhere. I also haven't noticed any performance benefits either. I wasn't getting any leading from traditionally lubed cast bullets and was getting great accuracy. With the coated bullets, I get no leading and accuracy was almost as good after adjusting my powder charge.

Powder coating takes too much of my time for little benefit, so I went back to using White Label Lubes carnuba red.
Old July 17, 2014, 10:36 PM   #3
jaysouth

No wear or any powder coat left in the barrel.

I also agree with Vance's observations. I dry tumble then cure bullets @400 degrees for 10 minutes. The advantage to me is that I don't have to lube or gas check bullets for shooting in the 1,400 to 1,700 range that gives me good accuracy for range work.

A properly cast, lubed and gas checked lead bullet is the optimum bullet for inside 200 yards on medium sized game like deer and pigs. The damage that they do is incredible. For range plinking, I get lazy and do the powder coat of wheel weight or softer alloy.
Old July 17, 2014, 10:46 PM   #4
FrankenMauser

The only complaint that I have seen was....

A guy that shot 12,500 PC'd bullets in his competition Glock. He was moaning like a pregnant nun about the wear and tear the coated bullets caused, and claiming that they had ruined his barrel.