The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old September 22, 2001, 02:36 PM   #1
mr. pitiful

opinions on MARINE MAGNUM 870

Hello, I am pretty much a handgun guy but have been looking at different HD shotguns for home defense in my appartment. I had pretty much narrowed it down to the MARINE but was waiting till I had the $430.00 cash. well, I went to a gun show today and got one from a police officer that is like brand new with sling and extra shell carrier for $285.00 I was pretty pleased to find that deal. Now what I am wondering is what your oppinion of this gun is for HD. like I said, I am pretty much a handgun guy, and asside from doing some duck hunting in my younger days, I am new to any of the new model shotguns.

Thanks

Mr. Pitiful
Old September 22, 2001, 04:21 PM   #2
Al Thompson
Staff Alumnus

Frankly, that was a great price! That shotgun should last until your grandkids wear it out. (maybe their kids too)

The trick now is to plan your defense (engagement zones) and practice, practice practice.

For HD in an apartment, birdshot (2 & 3/4 # 8s) is plenty.

Lots of threads here for a couple of evenings reading. Use the search key and enjoy!

Giz
Old September 22, 2001, 04:24 PM   #3
NINE

The Marine Magnum is a real piece of work. I've had mine for about 4 1/2 years, and no problems with it at all. The finish on it is EXTREMELY durable. I love its 7 shot capacity! I've shot light 2 3/4 loads, up to heavy 3 inch MAG slugs with great results. The pump action on this gun is very smooth, allowing for quick follow up shots. I will have no regrets recommending this shotgun to anyone who is interested in one. You'll love it!
Old September 22, 2001, 05:41 PM   #4
8200 rpm

For the price you paid, you basically go the corrosion resistant nickel plating for FREE!!!