The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old April 16, 2014, 05:45 PM   #1
sbaker10

Does testing pepper spray cause leakage?

I am a college student so I cannot carry a gun on campus, nor am I old enough for a concealed carry license. I bought 2 cans of pepper spray, one larger can in a cone pattern for if someone tries to carjack me or assault me while I have a back pack and a smaller can of pepper gel.

I would like to test both to see how they pattern, the neighbors dog also attacks my car every time I leave and they gave me permission so I would like to give him a quick squirt so he won't get ran over.

That being said, I am worried about testing one or both cans and having the pressure leak out over time faster than if new. Is that possible over a new can? Just talking like a 1-2 second spray.
Old April 16, 2014, 05:58 PM   #2
Sharkbite

No leakage.

Ive used OC as a LEO many times. Use till the can is mostly empty and replace. I never worried about leakage after the first use

You may want to wash the outside of the can after use. Cross contamination aint no joke. Ask me how i know
Old April 16, 2014, 06:10 PM   #3
sbaker10

Oh I know, had a keychain cheapo that I sprayed a few times a year ago, and it either ran out or leaked, well long story short I found it in my drawer, went to throw it away, rubbed my eyes, and well
Old April 16, 2014, 06:16 PM   #4
TXAZ

Define "leakage". If you give a quick shot outside, then come inside, you will likely smell / feel the OC for some time. It's not a classic leak, just the residue left in the nozzle north of the valve. For some people that small amount is still very unpleasant inside.

Cave illos in guns et backhoes
Old April 16, 2014, 06:18 PM   #5
sbaker10

Propellent leakage
Old April 16, 2014, 08:15 PM   #6
Aer656y9