The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Closed Thread

Old February 15, 2010, 03:56 PM   #1
CrossfireRacerX

In Defense of the Freedom to Arms

Hi all. This is my first time posting, but I've been lurking for a long while. I felt the need to register to post my mind, however, on this one issue: the defense of the freedom to arms.

Now recently, I've read many pro-firearm advocates arguing against anti-gun legislation with the same old "it contradicts the constitution! It contradicts the second amendment!"

While I agree that gun-restricting legislation should be fought against, I find the above argument a futile one which ultimately shows the ignorance of the person asserting thus. I'd like to point you to the wording in the First Amendment of the Bill of Rights. "CONGRESS shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion"

I italicized what I perceive to be the most important word in that first amendment: Congress. CONGRESS can't pass laws regarding the establishment of religion, the meaning being there can never be a NATIONALLY established religion. If you read the Federalist Papers, it becomes clear that the founding fathers advocated a very weak national government with stronger state and local governments. In fact, there have been historical examples where STATES have had established churches (if I remember correctly, Connecticut and Maryland both had established churches, feel free to correct me).

In the same way, CONGRESS can not pass a law infringing on our right to keep and bear arms. The NATIONAL government can not pass these laws. The intention of the founding fathers was, again, that if states so chose to, they could pass laws preventing our arms-bearing right, and be fully justified in doing so by the Constitution.