The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old December 2, 2013, 11:42 AM   #1
ATN082268

Choice of handgun for Home Defense

Hello everyone,

I wanted to ask everyone what would be the best choice of handgun for Home Defense with the possibility of concealed carry down the road. In any case, the primary role will be home defense. I am a novice and cost isn't likely to be an issue unless you get really silly. I was kind of leaning towards a Smith and Wesson. 357 Revolver with a 3 or 4 inch barrel. Also, what ammunition would you recommend? Thank you.

Sincerely,

Andrew

Last edited by ATN082268; December 2, 2013 at 01:31 PM.
Old December 2, 2013, 01:44 PM   #2
pilpens

For defense (home or CCW), I like DAO or similar trigger with minimal external controls – for simplicity.
Following are good reliable conceal carry firearms and can easily do double duty as home defense firearms:
1. Kahr K9
2. Glock 26, 19.
3. Ruger SP101 .357.
4. S&W J frame - like a 640, 60, 36, 642, etc.

- How do you plan to store your firearm – a round chambered/on you, loaded in a safe, nightstand? What about during the day?
- If you plan to keep your firearm loaded, I strongly recommend keeping it in a holster so that the trigger is protected.
Old December 2, 2013, 01:54 PM   #3
Buzzcook

The short answer is a shotgun.

The slightly longer answer is whatever handgun you shoot best.
Old December 2, 2013, 02:16 PM   #4
RX-79G

For home defense I would favor something with a real DA trigger (10 lbs.) for at least the first shot. 3am is no time to have to remember where the safety is or good trigger discipline, so having a fairly firm trigger pull will keep you from an ND. Storing the gun in a holster is another decent safety procedure.