The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 1, 2012, 11:08 AM   #1
losixxx

Cleaning your brass cartridges?

I was searching around to find a home remedy to cleaning my brass cartridges. Im new to reloading have bought most of the proper equipment (Lee Breech Lock Challenger Kit, Lee Moderen Reload Manual Vol. 2, Digital Scale, Die set) with that being said I was looking for a temporary fix for cleaning the brass I cam across this:

1-quart water
1-cup vinegar
1-tbsp salt
1-tbsp dish soap

basicaly leave in the solution for 30min mixing ever so often about every 5-min or so. Then rinse with water and dry either with a hair dryer or place in oven at low setting the time im not sure about. Or you can leave set out for a day or so basicaly jus make sure the cartridges is thoroughly dry.

Has anyone used this and how has your own personal experience been?

Thanks in advance for all replies or ideas.
Old May 1, 2012, 11:25 AM   #2
NWPilgrim

I've done that in the past and it works but can take a couple of hours, depending on how tarnished the cases are. Hot water works faster than cold, too. It goes a lot faster to use a sonic cleaner and the mild acid solution.

Be sure to rinse thoroughly, repeatedly. Does not take much time but you have to get all the acid off or you will get greenish corrosion in places such as the primer pocket or case neck.

I dry them on a cookie sheet at about 150F in the oven. The cases left stains on the bare cookie sheet so I now line it with parchment paper (buy it in rolls like alum foil or wax paper). Takes about 1/2 hour to dry thoroughly.

I deprime my cases before soaking them so they will get solution through them better and rinse out more easily.