The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 13, 2009, 09:35 AM   #1
Flapjack23

Intro and Questions (long)

Please allow myself to introduce...myself.

I'm fairly new to reloading. Only last year or so, I've reloaded so far 10mm. .357, and 45/70. I intend to reload .300 WM, .375 H&H (no real use for this one, but got a very good deal on the gun), .480 Ruger, .270 Win, .40 S&W. I got a Lee turret press kit, misc odds and ends. I believe I am competent and pay enough attention to reload safely. I've been using the press as a single station press, but will probably use the auto-index function to mass produce .40, 10mm, maybe .223 for plinking.

My procedure so far (for .300 and .375) is take factory new brass, resize, trim, deburr case mouth, tumble to remove lube (and I like shiny brass), prime, powder, seat bullet, crimp.

I tend to be somewhat anal and weigh every powder charge. Probably wont do that on bulk .40, 10mm, just every 10th or so. I only have the Lee balance beam measure that came with the kit. Does it provide enough accuracy or would I be better off with a good (expensive) balance beam scale or electronic one?

How about my procedure so far. Any problems with tumbling brass as last step to case prep?

Seat bullet and crimp should be 2 steps, right?

I'm aiming for consistency and accuracy as opposed to velocity in my reloading.

Thanks for any input, I hope to learn a lot and hopefully pass along something also.

Andy

OK its not as long as I thought it would be.
Old January 13, 2009, 09:58 AM   #2
DBotkin