The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old February 20, 2020, 06:37 PM   #1
HighDesert

New Purchase - CZ75 P-01 Omega

I’ve been eyeing CZs for far too long! First time I shot one was around 2008, when I was debating my first handgun purchase. I found the Glock19 the simplest choice at the time and went that route, but sorta had a soft spot for the CZ since. Enjoyed the Glock for a while, shot well with it, competed with it and had no real complaints, till I started shooting tons of other pistols. I just started getting bored with polymer, so was shooting every thing but my Glock.

A while back I picked up a Shadow 2 and so the CZ addiction began. Yesterday, while I had a few minutes to burn, I stopped by my LGS and there was a P-01 Omega, black and no threaded barrel, looking...oh so lonely! I couldn’t help myself....she needed a home! I should have gone with the 75 in the first place.

Not sure if I’ll do any upgrades at this point. Will leave the decocker on for now. This will be an HD gun replacing the 1911 for that duty. Ike always been uneasy with the wife and that trigger under pressure, so the decocker will stay to give me some level of comfort there won’t be a ND if we have to God forbid reach for it half asleep.

Anyhow, can’t wait to take her out for a good run. DA is atrocious, but SA feels great. Definitely not the same trigger as the Shadow 2, but I knew that going in. Should still be a fun shoot in SA. Only bummer, there’s no NSN on this one! CZ changed a spring and now has to wait for a recertification! Or so, I understand it.

Oh, and...not trying to start a Glock bash. They are great guns and mine served me well. Just wanted something different.
Old February 20, 2020, 07:45 PM   #2
Old 454

CZ is one of the finest hand guns made at a reasonable price. I also own a Shadow 2 will be starting USPSA this year and also steel targets.