The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 4, 2008, 12:45 AM   #1
KUHIO

I've got wheel weights, Now What!?

Hey guys, I'm getting into reloading, don't yet have bullet casting stuff BUT I've begun collecting wheel weights (I've read here that some of you use them to cast). It just so happens that I'm a tire tech for a construction equipment company, and have access to an endless supply of weights! Aren't you jealous! So how do I use 'em
Old December 4, 2008, 01:12 AM   #2
kraigwy

Cast them into ingots that fit in the lead pot. After heating to the corret temp (800 degrees or so) every now and then put in a pea size gob of bullet lube, and stir it. It keeps the tin, zink, lead, etc mixed. Careful it may flair up, dont hurt anything but does make it smoke. Lead fumes aren't dangerous until it gets above 1000 degress but you still want to cast in a well ventolated area.
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old December 4, 2008, 01:29 AM   #3
KUHIO

Thanks Kraigwy! What part of Wyoming are you from? My fiance and I want to move to the Cheyenne area after we get married.
Old December 4, 2008, 02:03 AM   #4
HiBC

I would not call myself a great expert,but I believe you want to keep zinc out of the mix.Zinc wheelweights are painted.My understanding is you will compromise the casting quality of the whole batch with zinc.
The good metals are lead,tin,and antimony.Beware the toxicity of lead and antimony.Wearing gloves,washing hands,etc is all good.Heavy metals build up in your body cumulatively.Not trying to scare you off,just take care.
Wear eye protection.