The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 7, 2008, 05:31 PM   #1
AKGunner

.500 magnum-How much crimp?

I loaded up some 425 gr bullets with 20 gr of blue dot. Trouble is one of the bullets slipped forward upon recoil. The bullets have a crimping groove. The bullets are from t-rex thumpers out of Homer, Alaska.

I'm new to loading for the 500. How do I know how much crimp to in the groove? I'm used to going by the OAL. Is it as simple as keep crimping more and more and until the bullets no longer slip?

Thanks in advance.
Old January 8, 2008, 01:41 PM   #2
AKGunner

Hey, I'm responding to myself! Last evening I made up a batch of 20 more cartridges for the s&w 500. I didn't seat the bullet quite so far and it now fits better into the crimping groove. I also increased the crimp slightly. I think it is going to help hold the bullet in better under recoil. At least it looks better to me at the time. I'll be taking it to the range on Saturday to test them out.

Thanks Self!
Old January 8, 2008, 02:25 PM   #3
rnr

I've got a Smith .460 that I'm reloading for.

And if I remember right, I read somewhere that these big guys didn't need a crimp. And that a crimp might even increase pressures. I remember something about the bullets not moving w/o the crimp too.

Now, I don't remember where I read it cause I did a lot of searching around when I started loading for mine. And because it's been very cold around here lately, I haven't shot any of my loads. I didn't crimp them.

I could be way off the mark here, but it might be worth some more research.
Old January 8, 2008, 05:04 PM   #4
Conservadude