The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old July 22, 2004, 08:42 PM   #1
gifted

Gun *and* blade?

I'm a bit of a writer. I do little peices now and then right now, as I'm working on filling out the world and plot and such for longer, novel-sized stories.

I have a main plot line for these, and it starts in a near-future earth. There's mostly sci-fi, with a bit of fantasy. I'm basing the main character in part on myself, and thus many of the things he's doing are things I'd love to be able to do. I want to learn eventually, martial arts, though martial science would be a more appropriate term, as Hollywood stunts, and watered-down competition stuff don't really interest me, though that's probably how I'll get started. At any rate, the pinch of fantasy comes in with certain abilities available to those that seek them, and so the character in question in this thread is more capable than he otherwise would be.

This certain character who would demand a very distinctive weapon. Due to his main job later on, he's allowed(for the sake of the book) a certain amount of liberty in regard to personal weapons, and I was thinking he'd be using one of two gigs. This is where the special skills come in. He, in studying, learned of stealth methods that are only rivalled by a ninja, or something like that. At any rate, unless he's in the middle of an open field, with zippo cover, he can evade. Thus most of his skills are tuned to close quarters combat. The first gig for this is fairly simple, he never goes anywhere without his sword, and pistols are easy to conceal, so it would be a pistol and a sword.