The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old August 7, 2005, 12:28 PM   #1
MidKnight

First time to range. Please help critique.

I recently purchased a used S&W 908. It's my first centerfire handgun. I took my first trip to the range today and shot some targets. I did better than I expected to seeing as how this is such a departure from the long guns I've been hunting with for so many years.

Anyways, because I don't know anyone around here that shoots, I was hoping some people could look at my target and give me an idea of what I'm doing wrong... see, I'm consistantly to the right of the bull. If anyone knows what that's symptomatic of, please let me know!!! Thanks in advance!

The picture is about 15 shots at 33 feet with 115 gr FMJ winchester cheapo rounds.

Old August 7, 2005, 01:55 PM   #2
Dust_Devil

Looks like a trigger control problem.

Assuming you are a right-handed shooter, possibly you are jerking the trigger with the tip of your finger causing the gun to jerk to the right and causing the impacts to the right of the bull rather than having your trigger finger more centered on the trigger and squeezing evenly and slowly back.

I actually have the opposite problem where my groups are often to the left which I think I am squeezing my left hand too much over the grip.

Overall, you want to have a even pressure with both hands, when shooting with two hands, and you want to have an even pressure with your trigger finger and slowly squeeze the trigger back while practicing proper breathing techniques.
Old August 7, 2005, 02:26 PM   #3
powderedonuts

I would agree it looks like you are pulling slightly to the right when you trigger.
Old August 7, 2005, 02:35 PM   #4
USP45usp

Yes, he's right handed and he's pulling the shots to the right, with an over compensation to the left on that one shot. Which means that he knows that he's pulling to the right.