The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old September 16, 2002, 11:48 AM   #1
Coltdriver

Changing A Revolver Barrel

I am a novice at revlovers, so if this is too simple of a question I am beggin yer pardon in advance.

What is involved in changing a barrel of a revolver?

For instance, if one wanted to change a S&W M13 4" to a 3" is this a major effort??

Thanks
Old September 16, 2002, 12:02 PM   #2
C.R.Sam

On about everything except Dan Wesson...
Yes, major deal.

Shoulder on barrel has to be just right so the sight lines up when the barrel is properly torqued. (something the factory seems to have difficulty with lately.)

Barrel to cylinder gap needs to be correct.

If chamber end of barrel needs trimming, may have to recut forcing cone.

Ejector rod-latch relationship usually needs work.

Etc.

Sam
Old September 16, 2002, 12:41 PM   #3
Mike Irwin
Staff

You also need some fairly expensive specialized tools to do the job properly without ruining the frame of the gun.

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Old September 16, 2002, 06:31 PM   #4
Dfariswheel

To change a barrel you would need the MINUIUM following equipment:

A LARGE vise. Sears Roebuck won't cut it.

Special barrel holding blocks made of aluminum or plastic.

An action wrench, with the proper inserts for your model gun.

A lath or hand-type cutter setup to remove metal from the back of the barrel, so the barrel can be indexed properly.

A cutter and guide set to trim the back of the barrel to the proper barrel/cylinder gap, and to cut a proper forcing cone in the barrel.

You will occasionally still read somewhere about whittling out some barrel blocks from wood, locking the barrel in a vise, and using a hammer handle to "twist 'er off".
This is the best way possible to destroy a gun's frame. The frame will be either sprung or broken in the barrel area.